searchSearch data by region...

JHU has stopped collecting data as of

03 / 10 / 2023

After three years of around-the-clock tracking of COVID-19 data from...

By Region

Data Notes

General Notes

September 14, 2021

  • Reduced counts in U.S. cases and deaths are the result of states and territories not reporting the information for some or all of the weekend. Those states and territories are: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Typically, these states" Monday updates include the weekend totals.

Region Notes

Choose a World Country or U.S. State

All Regions

October 5, 2022


  • On September 28, 2022, Kansas published 476 new deaths in its weekly report. According to the dashboard, “the large increase in the number of COVID-19 deaths is attributed to the OVS death reconciliation process.” More details here:

April 29, 2022


  • On April 22, 2022, we detected an issue with the data collection for Kansas; it was corrected on April 25, 2022.

April 8, 2022


  • As of April 1, 2022, Kansas changed to once per week reporting (Fridays).

October 30, 2021


  • Kansas deaths week October 24-30 confirmed data reconciliation: First shared last week, the general weirdness of deaths for Kansas on October 27 and 29 were confirmed through communication with the state department of health to be due to data reconciliation. These spikes were due to older deaths just now being added to the public reporting.

April 8, 2021


  • Declines in U.S. cases and deaths that appear in the Coronavirus Resource Center’s data on Mondays are the result of several states not reporting the information over the weekend. Those states are: Alaska, Connecticut, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Washington and Wyoming.