searchSearch data by region...

JHU has stopped collecting data as of

03 / 10 / 2023

After three years of around-the-clock tracking of COVID-19 data from...

By Region

Data Notes

General Notes

September 14, 2021

  • Reduced counts in U.S. cases and deaths are the result of states and territories not reporting the information for some or all of the weekend. Those states and territories are: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Typically, these states" Monday updates include the weekend totals.

Region Notes

Choose a World Country or U.S. State

All Regions

November 30, 2022


  • Alaska switched its once-per-week reporting day to Tuesday. Previously, the state reported on Wednesday.

November 18, 2022


July 22, 2022


  • On July 13, Alaska reported 24 deaths after not reporting deaths since Mid-May: The reason for this delay is not clear.

April 8, 2022


  • As of April 4, 2022, Alaska changed to once per week reporting (Wednesdays).

March 1, 2022


  • Alaska on Feb. 6, 2022, began reporting deaths once a week. The state continues to report cases three times per week.

January 24, 2022


January 11, 2022


  • As of January 11, 2022, Alaska no longer provides county-level testing data.

June 25, 2021


  • Alaska's positivity rate dropped on Friday from 1.7% to -0.2% because of a daily decrease of 185,933 total tests. Excluding that unexplained decline, Alaska's positivity rate would be 1.5%.

April 8, 2021


  • Declines in U.S. cases and deaths that appear in the Coronavirus Resource Center’s data on Mondays are the result of several states not reporting the information over the weekend. Those states are: Alaska, Connecticut, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Washington and Wyoming.